Proud to be Basic

I’ll admit it; I used to wear UGG boots on a regular basis. I like pumpkin spice lattes, and I wear leggings as pants. According to the internet, that makes me basic. You know what? I love it.

I love the trend I’ve seen lately where its cool to be different. Having ones own unique sense of self seems to make one. I think it is amazing to see youth and young adults being confident in their uniqueness. That being said, I have also noticed that liking something “popular” is now shunned. Perhaps it started with the hipsters, but it seems like more and more, liking a song from the radio means you have bad taste in music. Getting a pumpkin spice latte because you like the taste dooms you to the realm of basic-ness forever. If you want to be hip, you have to be unique. I am here to say that I like popular things, and I don’t care who knows it!

Sure, I have some quirky interests, and I am most definitely a unique and interesting person, but I also enjoy a lot of popular things! I like doing yoga and enjoy Starbucks lattes. “Athleisure” is a word in my vocabulary and comprises most of my wardrobe. I have been to multiple wine and paint nights and hiking with my dogs is a big part of my life. I enjoy being basic. I am not ashamed to like things that are popular. In fact, this weekend, I spent a day going to a community rooftop yoga class and then finding murals to take selfies in front of. This weekend I was the epitome of a Basic Bitch and I had a blast.

Rock on my fellow Basics!

Link to the Vlog I made of this weekends shenanigans {Yoga and Mural Vlog}

 

Leave a Reply

